Finding Junie Kim (Hardcover) Children's Books Happier Every Chapter

Finding Junie Kim (Hardcover)

Regular price
£13.42
Sale price
£13.42
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Amina’s Voice comes a breathtaking story of family, hope, and survival from Ellen Oh, cofounder of We Need Diverse Books. When Junie Kim is faced with middle school racism, she learns of her grandparents’ extraordinary strength and finds her voice. Inspired by her mother’s real-life experiences during the Korean War, Oh’s characters are real and riveting. “Both unique and universal, timely and timeless. ” —Padma Venkatraman, Walter Award-winning author of The Bridge Home "A moving story that highlights how to find courage in the face of unspeakable hardship. " —Hena Khan, award-winning author of Amina’s Voice "Junie discovers where she comes from and gains the courage to make a difference in the future. " —Wendy Wan-Long Shang, award-winning author of The Great Wall of Lucy Wu Junie Kim just wants to fit in. So she keeps her head down and tries not to draw attention to herself. But when racist graffiti appears at her middle school, Junie must decide between staying silent or speaking out. Then Junie’s history teacher assigns a project and Junie decides to interview her grandparents, learning about their unbelievable experiences as kids during the Korean War. Junie comes to admire her grandma’s fierce determination to overcome impossible odds, and her grandpa’s unwavering compassion during wartime. And as racism becomes more pervasive at school, Junie taps into the strength of her ancestors and finds the courage to do what is right. Finding Junie Kim is a reminder that within all of us lies the power to overcome hardship and emerge triumphant. Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature Honor Book A Bank Street Best Children’s Book of the Year Included in NPR’s 2021 Books We Love List 2021 Nerdy Award Winner

Title: Finn and the Intergalactic Lunchbox (The Finniverse Series, Bk. 1)
Author: Buckley, Michael
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Category: Tweens Fiction
Binding: Hardcover
Subject: Action & Adventure
Collection: Family
Reading Age: 7 - 10 years
No. Of Pages: 368 pages
Langauage: English
ISBN-13: 9780062987983
# Amazon Reviews: 114
Amazon Ranking Category 1: Children's Fiction on Violence
Amazon Ranking Category 2: Children's Books on Violence
Amazon Ranking Category 3: Children's Books on Multiculturalism

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
Trustpilot